The Poltimore House Trust

The POLTIMORE HOUSE TRUST was established in 2000 to preserve this historic building and its estate.

The Trust is registered with the Charity Commission (Charity Commission no 1079947), is a Building Preservation Trust and member of the Association of Preservation Trusts, and a limited company (Companies House no 03914029). It is VAT registered (VAT 100937837) and registered with HMRC for collection of Gift Aid.

The Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees who collectively possess a broad range of professional expertise, skills and experience. 

The Trust meets approximately every eight weeks at Poltimore House, and a member of the Poltimore Parish Council attends as an observer.


Ashley Fawcett

Trustee from 2013

Appointed Chair, October 2013

Publicity and Press Relations consultant. Director of Agribusiness Communications Ltd.​


Jonathan Wright

Trustee from 2008

Vice Chair

Jonathan is a programme management consultant with an engineering background. Specialising in ‘process optimisation’, he has worked with clients in both public and private sectors including the NHS, EADS and Rolls Royce.

Jonathan lives in Devon and has been part of the Trust since 2008 – he believes that the house and grounds represent an enormous potential for the community, which can be realised by bringing amazing people together to write the next chapter in its long history.

Jocelyn Hemming

Trustee from 2000

Born in Exeter and educated at the Maynard School, Exeter and St Hugh’s College, Oxford. Has a long personal association with Poltimore House and a founder member of Poltimore House Trust since 2000.  She is now the historian of Poltimore House with a number of studies and two books on its history – A Devon House : The Story of Poltimore House, 2005 and The House that Richard Built : Six Centuries at Poltimore House, 2013.

Has recently prepared a new account of the 18th century Saloon and is reviewing the historic use of the other state rooms and the creation and use of the hospital’s operating theatre after 1947. Subscribes to the Friends of Poltimore House and the Friends of Poltimore Church.

Rebekah Baty

Trustee from 2017

Rebekah is a Litigation Executive with a local City firm, specialising in Personal Injury and historic child abuse.  With a keen interest in music, she plays piano and cello.  Rebekah lives locally and has always taken an interest in the House.

She will act as a point of communication and liaison with people in Poltimore Village and assist in further developing the range of events with the Friends of Poltimore House.

Professor Peter Totterdill

Trustee from 2008

Peter Totterdill is a Director of Workplace Innovation Europe, a not-for-profit organisation based in the UK and Ireland, and dedicated to the promotion of better ways of working through research, the dissemination of good practice, policy advocacy and practical consultancy. He is a passionate advocate of organisational practices that combine high performance and high quality of working life.

Peter is also Visiting Professor at Kingston University London and Mykolas Romeris University Vilnius. He is a Trustee of two other charities (Muzika Charitable Trust and the Sustainable Transport Collective) as well as Poltimore House Trust.

Keith Weedon

Trustee from 2008

Keith worked for British Telecom for 41 years, joined as an apprentice and worked up to Senior Project Manager covering many roles including planning, quality management and project work, recent projects were with Openreach on “Broadband Britain”.

He has worked in the voluntary sector with the Youth Hostels Association, was a leader for National Trust’s Acorn Projects with a focus on archaeological and countryside management projects. He helped establish and was Chairman of the Exeter National Trust Volunteers; he was also a member the Steering Group developing the National Trust’s Volunteer Policy in the late 1980’s.

Keith became involved at Poltimore through the Restoration programme in 2004 and helped  found the Friends of Poltimore House, he became its first Chairman and has been active member ever since.  He joined the board of Poltimore House Trust in 2008.

Keith lives near Exeter and spends time away from Poltimore looking after 1/3 acre of garden, likes photography, travel and experimenting with recipes in the kitchen.

Graham Fice

Trustee from 2016

Now retired and relocated back to Exeter, Graham’s career focused in higher education administration, working in a number of universities including Exeter and Plymouth and completing his career as Clerk to the Governors and Company Secretary of St Mary’s University in Twickenham, London.  As St Mary’s is both a company and a charity that equipped him to help with the governance of the Trust.

Amongst his previous work with charities in Devon Graham helped set up the Bovey Tracey Heritage Trust.  He is now a Governor of South Devon Further Education College in Paignton, a Trustee of Action East Devon based in Cranbrook, and a member of a specialist scrutiny panel working for the Police Commissioner for Devon and Cornwall.
As well as history, Graham has a keen interest in the arts, from painting to opera.

Andrew Cooper

Trustee from 2017

Poltimore House Trust has the support of five Patrons, who champion the significance of the House in different ways.


Dr Peter Addyman CBE  –
Dame Joan Bakewell – who championed Poltimore House for BBC2’s Restoration progamme in 2003.
George Ferguson CBE, PPRIBA, RWA – Mayor of Bristol
Mark Poltimore (Seventh Baron Poltimore), a senior member of Sotheby’s Europe.
Len Scott – a long-serving Trustee, and Treasurer to the Trust. 

The Poltimore House Trust
Registered address: Poltimore House, Poltimore, Exeter, Devon EX4 0AU
Contact: email Trust Chair:

Poltimore House Trust: Charity Commission no.: 1079947
Companies House no.: 03914029
VAT registration no.: 100937837